Body Corporate & Community Titles Schemes

Our Practice

With around 50,000 community titles schemes and over 400,000 people living in units in Queensland, the body corporate industry affects a large percentage of the Queensland population.

At Shand Taylor Lawyers we are able to assist in the establishment of community title schemes, the sale and purchase of lots, the establishment and transfer of management rights, the administration and control of body corporates, body corporate litigation and dispute resolution.

Our Expertise

Our team regularly provides advice in the following areas:

  • establishment, sale and transfer of management rights
  • preparation of various body corporate contracts and agreements (including service contracts, marina berth leases and caretaking and letting agreements)
  • advising on by-laws, including the enforceability and implementation of by-laws
  • advising on the provisions of the body corporate legislation including the responsibilities and powers of bodies corporate and committees
  • dispute resolution and litigation involving bodies corporate in the Courts, QCAT and the Office of the Commission for Body corporate and Community Management
  • establishment of community titles schemes for residential, commercial and industrial projects (from small complexes to large complicated layered, staged, or mixed residential and commercial arrangements)
  • advising on restructuring community titles schemes, including changing the future development inside or outside of the scheme and dissolving community titles schemes
  • removal or addition of lots or common property to a community titles scheme
  • drafting master contracts (including "off the plan" contracts) for strata title developments
  • preparation of first and new community management statements
  • the sale and purchase of community title scheme lots

Shand Taylor Lawyers is a member of Strata Community Australia.  Our clients include developers, unit owners, body corporates, body corporate managers, onsite managers and letting agents.

Our Team

Please refer your enquiries to:

John Lowes, Special Counsel
(07) 3307 4567
jlowes@shandtaylor.com.au

Rod O’Sullivan, Partner
(07) 3307 4568
rosullivan@shandtaylor.com.au

Matthew Shannon, Partner
(07) 3307 4506
mshannon@shandtaylor.com.au

Richard Waring, Partner
(07) 3307 4545
rwaring@shandtaylor.com.au

Jacob Bowman, Associate
(07) 3307 4503
jbowman@shandtaylor.com.au

Andrew Pine, Lawyer
(07) 3307 4505
apine@shandtaylor.com.au

Patrick Sherlock, Lawyer
(07) 3307 4542
psherlock@shandtaylor.com.au